Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Castle Doctrine Law Protects Law-Abiding Pennsylvanians, Says Pyle
6/29/2011

Rep. Jeff Pyle (left) is shown here with Gov. Tom Corbett and Rep. Karen Boback (R-Columbia/ Luzerne/Wyoming) immediately following the signing of House Bill 40, the Castle Doctrine, which is now Act 10 of 2011.

The law-abiding citizens of Pennsylvania have additional protection granted by the enactment of the Castle Doctrine (House Bill 40), which was signed into law this week by Gov. Tom Corbett, said Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Indiana) today.

“It should not have taken as many years as it did to get this outstanding legislation passed, but I am pleased that we have a governor who understands, finally, that the rights of the citizens who work hard and abide by the rules, need the protection of the Castle Doctrine,” said Pyle. “I am proud to have been a part of the effort to get this passed as a co-sponsor and as someone who has spoken about this many times. I applaud the prime sponsor, my colleague Representative Scott Perry, and I am proud to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with him. It is a day that has been long-awaited.”

The legislation creates the presumption that an attacker or intruder in one’s legally occupied home or vehicle intends to do great bodily harm and holds that protective force – even lethal force – may be used to protect oneself, one’s family, and others from attack.  The bill also offers specific protections against civil liability for the lawful use of force in self-defense. 

Pyle said that there still has to be definitive proof of an actual threat, and that this is no rationale for the misuse of force. He added that it is the law-abiding citizen who should have the advantage in the face of a threat, not the criminal.

House Bill 40, now known as Act 10 of 2011, goes into effect in 60 days.

State Representative Jeff Pyle
60th District, Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Contact:  Raymond Smith
rsmith@pahousegop.com
717.705.1834
JeffPyle.net
Facebook.com/RepJeffPyle

Share |