Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Votes to Update Archaic Small Games of Chance Act
1/26/2012
HARRISBURG - Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Indiana) Wednesday voted to send a measure, House Bill 169, to Gov. Tom Corbett’s desk that would improve the ability for veterans groups and fire companies to effectively use small games of chance to raise the money needed to help run their organizations.

The prize limits in the Local Option Small Games of Chance Act, which has not been updated in more than two decades, have been diminished by inflation and are no longer sufficient for organizations such as veterans groups and fire companies to raise the money needed to serve and protect their neighbors, Pyle noted.

“Small games of chance have long been used by private organizations to purchase firefighting equipment, assist families that have suffered tragic events, and even contribute to the streetscape efforts of townships and boroughs without using taxpayer money,” Pyle said. “Our communities have had to wait too long for the Legislature to agree on passing these needed reforms, but I am pleased changes are finally on the way.”

The updates House Bill 169 makes to the 23-year old Local Option Small Games of Chance Act would allow organizations to use up to 30 percent of the money raised for general operating expenses and capital projects.

The majority of the funds raised, 70 percent, would be used for public interest purposes such as sponsoring youth sports, refurbishing local parks, or giving out grants and scholarships to local students.

The measure would increase the weekly prize limit on small games of chance from $5,000 to $25,000, and permit fire companies and EMS organizations to conduct raffles with a weekly limit of $50,000.

Small games of chance regulations do not apply to bingo.

State Representative Jeff Pyle
60th District, Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Contact: Charles Lardner
clardner@pahousegop.com
717.260.6443
Share |