Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Legislation to Conserve Game Passes House
5/22/2012
HARRISBURG – The House of Representatives today voted overwhelmingly to approve House Bill 881, legislation authored by Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong) that would help reduce the instances of hunters losing wounded game animals.

The measure simply permits hunters to use a leashed tracking dog to locate a wounded large game animal (whitetail deer or black bear) if needed in order to conserve Pennsylvania’s wild resources and to ensure the animal does not suffer needlessly.

“The idea for this legislation came from my constituent, Susan Edwards of North Buffalo Township, who was concerned about the wasted resources resulting from game animals that are wounded but never found by the hunter,” Pyle said. “It also helps make certain our game is harvested humanely.”

Pyle noted that a bill developed in similar fashion to allow judges, at their discretion, to hand down enhanced penalties for people who produce or sell drugs in front of children garnered unanimous passage in the House on May 8.

The impetus for that measure, House Bill 1289, came from discussions with Kittanning Police Chief Ed Cassesse after serving warrants on several drug raids involving methamphetamine labs in houses with children living in them.

“As a conservative, I do not believe the measure of a successful Legislature is passing a slew of new laws every session, because that inevitably takes freedoms away,” Pyle said. “Many of the ideas for commonsense legislation are simple measures that come from people I talk to every day. They identify a problem that I can help them with and I do it. I think that is what being a citizen legislator means.”

State Representative Jeff Pyle
60th District, Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact: Charles Lardner
clardner@pahousegop.com
717.260.6443
Share |