Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Bill Adds Jail Time for Dealing Drugs in Front of Kids
4/10/2013

HARRISBURG -Today, the House unanimously approved legislation authored by Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong) heightening the penalties for drug dealers who produced and/or sold drugs in the presence of children.

Pyle was spurred to introduce this measure, House Bill 447, after learning about several troubling incidents in Armstrong County – a heroin bust in Kittanning, a crack and heroin bust in Ford City, and a meth lab in Apollo just blocks from a school – from Kittanning Police Chief Ed Cassesse and ArmNet Detective Frank Pitzer..

“After serving warrants on several drug raids involving methamphetamine labs, Frank became particularly concerned when they entered one house where meth was being cooked,” Pyle said.  “There were children sitting right there on the sofa suffering from skin irritation due to the caustic brew of sulfuric acid and other chemicals that poison is made from.”

“The children said they had complained to their parents about burning skin and burning eyes, but the parents never sought medical care for them,” Cassesse said.  “These labs are no longer principally a rural problem.  Supply and demand is causing them to move right into our communities in places you can’t imagine, right next to schools and day care centers.”

Under House Bill 447, which now moves to the Senate for consideration, persons or guardians who cause children to witness drug trafficking will not only do the required jail time, but the judge would also be empowered to add time to the regular sentence for each child present.

Representative Jeff Pyle
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact:  Charles Lardner
717.260.6443
clardner@pahousegop.com
JeffPyle.net / Facebook.com/RepJeffPyle
Share |