Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Richard Farah, Jr., Rfarah@pahousegop.com
Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
218 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Objects to the Governor’s Recent Education Funding Proposal
7/11/2018
FORD CITY - Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Butler/Indiana) joins other House members in his objection of Gov. Tom Wolf’s Basic Education Funding proposal. The governor has proposed that all education funds be distributed through the Fair Funding Formula. Pyle said this will not only hurt our school districts, but the students and community as well.

“This is absurd and unacceptable. The governor’s actions will force our school districts to raise property taxes greatly and unexpectedly,” said Pyle. “To come out of nowhere like it did, so close to the school district’s having to file their budgets is grossly irresponsible. I’ll be fighting this cruel malarkey.”

Below are the funds our school districts would receive should this proposal become a reality:
• Apollo Ridge School District: $5,074,728 (39 percent cut)
• Armstrong School District: $20,113,840 (34 percent cut)
• Freeport Area School District: $3,447,933 (49 percent cut)
• Leechburg Area School District: $2,675,168 (38 percent cut)
• South Butler County School District: $3,963,725 (49 percent cut)
• Blairsville-Saltsburg School District: $4,440,478 (53 percent cut)
Currently, only new school funding amounts are calculated through the formula, which went into effect for 2015-16. This strategy ensures a gradual transition to the new formula.

Pyle voiced his concerns after Wolf unexpectedly announced his proposal of running both existing and new education funds through the fair funding formula. It is projected that 357 school districts out of 500 in Pennsylvania, would be negatively affected and see drastic cuts in basic education funds.

Representative Jeff Pyle
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Abby Krueger
717.260.6617
akrueger@pahousegop.com
JeffPyle.net / Facebook.com/RepJeffPyle

Share |