Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle to Reject COLA
12/4/2008

State Representative Jeff Pyle (R-Ford City) today announced he will not accept the 2.8 percent cost-of-living adjustment given to legislators every Dec. 1, by a 1995 law.

“The condition of the state’s economy simply does not justify my acceptance of a COLA,” Pyle said. “Retiree groups are always being told the state cannot afford a COLA for them, and if that’s so, the state cannot afford one for me either. It would be hypocritical.”
 
Neither by law nor by Commonwealth Supreme Court ruling is Pyle allowed to refuse the COLA but will, instead, write personal checks to the Pennsylvania Department of the Treasury for the difference between his last, pre-COLA paycheck and the greater COLA-adjusted December paycheck.
 
“The 60th District’s workers, particularly in Armstrong County, have really taken it on the chin this past year,” Pyle said. “We’ve suffered many layoffs at the hands of unscrupulous liars and profiteers posing as honorable employers, and I cannot, in good conscience, accept a pay raise when my people are hurting.”
 
Pyle joins a growing number of elected state representatives and senators who are not accepting the COLA. His legislative partner in Indiana County, Rep. Dave Reed, also recently announced he will not accept the COLA.
 
The state’s current revenues for the year are far below projections and cuts to state programs and services are imminent.
 
“We need to lead by example,” said Pyle, “and I once worked those same laid off factory lines. Those are my friends and accepting more money for myself while the state is re-opening the budget for necessary cost-cutting doesn’t make sense. It’s not responsible and not good government. Accepting this COLA is not proper and I won’t do it.”

Rep. Jeff Pyle
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
(800) 287-0614
Contact: Tim Eller
House Republican Public Relations
teller@pahousegop.com
(717) 260-6242
Member site: 
JeffPyle.net
Caucus site: PAHouseGOP.com