Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Supports Legislation that Could Lead to Property Tax Elimination
1/18/2008
Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Indiana) today actively debated in support of legislation that lifts the constitutional cap of 50 percent of a home’s assessed value. This legislation opens the door for the complete elimination of property taxes as proposed in three bills that will be discussed in the coming weeks. 
           
“We have finally begun doing the people’s business,” Pyle said. “This is landmark legislation that allows the state constitution to completely wipe out the ever burdensome property tax that has plagued homeowners for decades.”
           
Currently, the Pennsylvania Constitution specifically states that only 50 percent of a homestead’s assessed value can be exempt for property taxes. This legislation would change the constitutional language to allow 100 percent of the value to be exempt. 
           
Pyle actively participated in debate on the House floor that cleared the way for this legislation to move to final passage.
           
“For many of those in western Pennsylvania, property tax elimination remains an elusive goal we have always sought and has never truly been in our crosshairs,” Pyle said. 
 
Since the bill proposes to amend the Pennsylvania Constitution, it must be successfully passed through two sessions of the Legislature. If this is accomplished, the people of Pennsylvania would need to vote up or down on the amendment. The earliest the constitution could be changed is 2009.
 
“This debate is far from over,” Pyle said. “But today was a great day for the people of Pennsylvania. I will continue to fight toward complete elimination of property taxes.”
 
Rep. Jeff Pyle
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
(800) 287-0614
Contact: Tim Eller
House Republican Public Relations
teller@pahousegop.com
(717) 260-6242
Member site: 
JeffPyle.net
Caucus site: PAHouseGOP.com