Contact My Office 
District Offices
Toll Free: 1-800-287-0614
 
Ford City
 Office
312 Ford St.
Ford City, PA 16226-1212
Tel: 724-763-3222
FAX: 724-763-9788
Staff: Abigail Major (Chief of Staff), Amajor@pahousegop.com
Marissa DeLorenzo, Mdelorenzo@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon- Wed and Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Thurs. 12 pm - 7 pm.

Sarver Office
612 South Pike Road #106
Sarver, PA 16055
Phone: (724) 295-2200
Fax: (724) 295-2322  

Staff: Zachary Reigh, Zreigh@pahousegop.com
Marcia Fox Mfox@pahousegop.com

Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    

Capitol Office
216 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202060
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2060
Tel: 717-783-5327
Fax: 717-260-6511
Staff: Erica Godsey, egodsey@pahousegop.com 
 
Email:  
The Honorable Jeff Pyle, jpyle@pahousegop.com
Pyle Says ‘NO’ to Natural Gas Extraction Tax
9/29/2010

Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Indiana) today issued the following statement following his “no” vote on Senate Bill 1155, which would impose the highest in the nation natural gas extraction tax in Pennsylvania:

 

“This is the wrong legislation, at the wrong time and for the wrong reasons.  Pennsylvania has the opportunity to be a leader in the natural gas drilling industry and what Gov. Rendell's cronies have rammed through the state House will do nothing more than kill further job growth.

 

“The people of Armstrong and Indiana counties are in need of jobs and drilling in the Marcellus Shale provides them adequate, secure, family sustaining jobs.  Taxing this industry at an excessive rate will force companies to locate to other states that impose a fair and reasonable tax and shortchange our citizens.

 

“This will not benefit the local area, nor will it benefit the citizens of Pennsylvania, local governments or the environment.  This is nothing more than taking more money from the people of Pennsylvania and depositing it into the state’s General Fund.

 

“This is not just a Marcellus Shale tax, it is a tax on all natural gas drilling operations.  Those who own shallow wells, like farmers, will also be forced to pay a tax on the gas they use for heating their homes.  This is completely wrong and will hurt those who are struggling to make ends meet.

 

“I could not in good conscience vote for this legislation since I believe it would hurt families throughout the 60th Legislative District.  My job is to protect them not impose additional financial harm.”

 

Rep. Jeff Pyle
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

(800) 287-0614

Contact:  Tim Eller

House Republican Public Relations
teller@pahousegop.com

(717) 260-6242
Member site:  JeffPyle.net

Caucus site:  PAHouseGOP.com

Share |